Wow! There was a lot to say. [ 2004-11-09, 10:05 p.m. ]

It seems like there are problems all over nowadays.

I have some news, not much to people who don't know her, but my mom just got a promotion. She's now Head of the Department of Food Services, Kamloops Region. Have to love a goverment job in order to give a title like that to someone.

So it's not even ten o'clock and he's in bed. My mom calls to tell me the news and I picked up on hte first ring because I couldn't go to bed at nine thirty if my life depended on it. I was talking quietly, the bedroom door was shut, and yet I still get a VERY pissed off "SHUT UP!!!" from the bedroom. Christ. Any little thing that is an inconvenience, you know? IT'S MY MOTHER, YOU LAZY PIECE OF DOGSHIT, AND SHE IS EXCITED SO I AM TRYING TO BE POSITIVE AND HAPPY FOR HER. As if he would know how to act to make someone else happy.

Nothing is really going bad here, on the whole. It's juts day in and day out. A few small things happened over the weekend. We went out to eat and he wouldn't let me order chocolate chip pancakes because "What, do you want to be fucking fat for the rest of your life???" He picked me up from teaching and was pissed right off. The first thing he said was, "How fucking fair is it that I was just in traffic to pick you up from your stupid fucking course?"

Yeah, he loves me and loves doing things for me.

I had cake from the girls at work today for my birthday, even though that's on Friday. He wasn't going to invite anyone over, but I said something in jest and he took it seriously.

He invited his sister over. I FUCKING HATE HIS SISTER. She is just going to say rude shit to me about being Canadian and laugh her obnoxious laugh. I hope that I drink a few beers; maybe I'll end up smaking her out, the scrawny little bitch.

He also invited two of our friends over, who I enjoy seeing. So at least it won't totally suck.

It's funny, I've had a lot fo shitty holidays in the past, what with moving around so often (I think it was every eight months on average throughout my childhood until my early teens) and because of that I am used to not having huge parties. But honestly, I have never had so few people to celebrate something with. There will be six poeple, including me, and I only like three of them, including me. Hah! Quality, not quantity, right?

And lastly, but probably most importantly, the discman I got has proven to be the most effective thing to not communicate ever. I come home, pop it on, and knit for four or five nearly uninterrupted hours. It's magic!!! Besides, the music! I had not realized how much I missed music. It really affects my mood. When living on my own I didn't own a T.V. and would always have my stereo on, but since living here it's been almost nothing but T.V. noise. The music makes my life about a million times better. God, constant T.V. is so bad for you. Really. Shut the fucking thing off, people.

My playlist this evening? Sarah McLachlan - afterglow (I'm from B.C., I have to like her. And it's relaxing), Modest Mouse - good news for people who love bad news, The Darkenss - permission to land (Yeah, I know it's probably bad taste, but come on! It's like if Queen were a really bad hair band back in the eighties. You love it, admit it;), Placebo - sleeping with ghosts, Bjork - medulla (I don't liek a lot of her stuff because it borders a little too much on the "atonal screeching" side for my tastes, but this album is a lot different than what I am used to from her. It's more soothing vocals, she uses a choir, neat stuff). Anyway, even the crap would be good at this point, anything but talking or T.V.

last - next

Fatty Sat On A Two Hole Punch - 2005-01-10
Whoa - 2005-01-07
Ungh - 2005-01-04
I've Really Done It Now - 2005-01-03
The Moon and Antartica - 2004-12-31
navigate
current
archives
profile
email
notes
host
design